32" 4k vs 27" 1440p

I’m looking for a new screen for work/home-office/browsing purposes.

I would love to hear your thoughts, as I cannot decide between 32" 4k panel or 27" 1440p.

I’m using windows - on desktop (gtx780 gpu) and laptop(Ryzen 5650U with iGPU). My desk is 80cm deep, my 23" 1080p screen is currently arms length away from me, meaning circa 15cm from back edge of the table.

I don’t play games anymore, work from home 3-4 days of the week as a software engineer/it analyst, my old 23,3" 1080p doesn’t suffice anymore.
I would love to have more screen estate.

Originally I though about going 27" 1440p, then I learned about 32" 4k - but I would probably need to scale it.

I’m little worried about scaling, as it’s not clear to me how it works.
E.g. if I zoom to 125%, doesn’t the image become blurry? 1px basically becomes 1,25pxs - it’s going to show either as 1 or 2 - potentially resulting in bluriness.

Performance impact?

Does the scaled 32" provide more screen estate comparing to 27"?

Is the font/crispiness really that much better, or exageratted in youtube ‘reviews’?

I’m considering P-line from Dell - P2723DE (€400) or P3223QE(€600). I kinda like dock feature of these monitors, so I could transfer video signal and charge my USB-C Laptop (hp elitebook 845g8) at the same time.

TLDR:
What would you go for? 27" 1440p vs 32" 4k, 80cm deep desk, no gaming at all, work (postman, drawing diagrams, occasional code browsing, working with texts, reading and preparing specs for developers).

32 1440p good refresh unless good refresh on 4k is an option

4 Likes

Personally I’d go for the 32" 4k option since I prefer to have the extra screen space available to jam more windows/lines of code in there.

In fact, I’m planning on switching from my 43" 4k TV to that same 32" Dell monitor in order to save some space in my desk.

Another vote for 27" 1440p. It’s easier for the GPU to drive and you can usually get higher refresh rates which just feels nicer.