3 pcs on a 10gb switch one has very slow writes

I have 3 pcs hooked up through a mikrotik sfp+ switch pc A has a 10gb sfp+ card pc B has a 10gb sfp+ card pc C has a 5gb aquantia nic with a sfp+ to rj45 in the switch pc a b and c can transfer to a or b with much greater than gigabit performance no issue however pc C when having files transfered to it from pc a or b has very slow write speed around 10 to 20 mbps (2 nvme drives in raid 0 not a drive bottleneck) im at a loss

Sorry for the run on sentence also i am very very new to networking stuff as a headsup

Windows or Linux?

Can you try iperf3 (command line tool that tests tcp/udp transfer speeds in one, other, both directions ;; use it to test just network speeds without involving any filesharing software or hardware)

Is this the CRS305 or some other switch? Are you sure you’re running on the same MTU on all ports and not asking the Mikrotik switch to firewall or route stuff between ports? What RJ45 transceiver are you using?

2 Likes

100 % run that first as a test. and if results are bad as well do direct computer to computer test to verify nics are good and to identify is switch is the issue or not

1 Like

I ran iperf on all 3 machines using each as a server and a client they all were able to get at or over 2gbs. This is the adapter im using https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01M5LIUK5/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Yes it is the crs305 im having a very hard time getting into the switch software as i have the microtik switch plugged into a unifi 24 port switch

The device that starts with 48 is the mikrotik switch and roshi mutaito and beerus are the pcs connected to it if any of this helps.

what size files are you moving, and what file systems

1 Like

all are windows machines and its large mp4s mkvs and its ntfs