2x2.5GbE PCIe Cards--Intel needs more PCIe Lanes than Realtek? Why?

Hello,

tl;dr: I’ve read reviews that indicate that the Syba card actually works as advertised, so I’m more than a little confused about why the Intel-based card needs more PCIe lanes. What am I missing?

I’m still a newbie at building modern PCs and servers, so this might be obvious, but I find myself confused about the differences in the apparent bandwidth required/PCIe lanes used for two competing 2x2.5GbE PCIe cards.

I wanted a card using the intel chipset to make virtualizing OPNSense easier, and ran into this:

QNAP (PCIe 2.0x2 - Intel Chipset): https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/1596833-REG/qnap_qxg_2g2t_i225_dual_port_2_5gbe_4_speed.html

Syba (PCI 2.0x1 - Realtek Chipset): Dual 2.5 Gigabit Ethernet PCI-e x1 Network Card

That Intel-based QNAP card is 2.0x2, my guess would be the Realtek-based one is 3.0x1. Remember that PCIe roughly doubles in bandwidth every generation.

1 Like

Nope, I was wrong. That said, PCIe 2x1 is roughly four gigabits full duplex, while 1000BASE-T and up is half duplex (so only send or receive, not both at the same time). (This is wrong, but doesn’t change the math much, see later in the thread)

That means that on the rare occasion you do full throttle in the same direction on both cards, PCIe will bottleneck (perhaps to ~3.5 Gbps combined). You can get full 2.5 Gbps on both ports if one is downloading and the other uploading. Depending on your use case you may be fine with the tradeoff.

Ed note: urgh, so many mistakes.

Thanks!

That makes much more sense. My motherboard only has 3 PCIe 4.0 slots: 1x16 lane, 1x8 lane, and 1x1 lane.

I needed a dual 2.5GbE card to use as a WAN/LAN (to switch) connection for a software router for my fiber connection. Right now I’ve got 500 Mbps full duplex, but theoretically, I could upgrade to 2 Gbps full duplex.