25' Displayport cable for 3440 x 1440 @120hz

My pc is remote in another room of my house and I have been successfully using 25ft displayport cables to drive 32" 75hz 1440p monitors for a few years now. I have recently upgrade to a alienware ultrawide AW3420DW, and when I set the display to 120hz, I get blacking out randomly, or it looses the display signal totally and I have to restart to get it back. I know 25ft is pushing it for the cable length, but does anyone have any recommendations on a cable?

I got this cable off amazon thinking it would solve the issue, but it is not any better.

These are the cables I have been running for a few years now, without issue:

Oddly enough, I have 3 monitors, I use 1 on hdmi, the other 2 I use displayport. The 3rd monitor is also 32" but a different model, but fed with one of the DP cables I have bad for a few years and I can set it up at 144 or 165 hz, and it seems to work fine, but I have not gamed on it at all, its has bad color blur on it.

GPU is 6900xt for refrence. Any cable/ setup suggestions?

FIBBR DP Cable, Fiber Optic Displayport 1.4 Cable Support 32.4 Gbps, 8k@60hz, 4K@144Hz, Male to Male Audio Video Cable Slim and Flexible High Speed DP to DP Cable (50ft)

They have different lengths but they are exactly what you need.

1 Like

I should have mentioned I was trying to avoid using an optical cable due to cost, but it seems to be the only way to ensure this works reliably. I will bite the bullet I guess and try this out, and I will report back. Thanks

I have the DWF version of your monitor, and I run it at 165Hz over 50ft using this AOC from Infinite Cables: https://us.infinitecables.com/products/aoc-active-optical-cable-displayport-8k-60hz-32-4gbps-v1-4-cable-cmp-plenum-rated?variant=43921084743993

Cost was a tough pill to swallow for me initially, but I can report that it “just works” in my situation. I carry audio over it, too.

There is no way to get around it at the length you want unfortunately.

1 Like