2 or 4 RAM sticks on a DUAL Channel Mobo?

Hello guys! I’m new to pc building and I’m about to build my very first gaming pc. I’m getting a ryzen 5 3600 and a b450 tomahawk. My friend also upgraded his gaming pc recently and he gave me 3x8gb ddr4 3000mhz ram sticks for free. Since I’m a newbie I wanted to ask if i should use only 2 of them for the dual channel or if I should buy another stick and go for 4x8gb ram. I will not need more than 16gb of ram for sure but in case I’d see a higher performance with 4 ram sticks instead of two I’d gladly spend another 50eur. Sorry if my questions seems a bit stupid, as I said I’m new to this whole pc building thing^^

Hi Rockyy,
In the scenario that you presented my thought would be to go with just two sticks.
You may run into some frustrations trying to match up a single stick to the rest of what you have.

2 vs. 4 for performance eh, there are a lot of variables in play for that, mem topology used on the board, the quality of the IMC on the CPU, are your sticks dual rank or single rank…

TLDR;
Generally speaking you may find you 'll have an easier time with a kit of 2. Typically be able to clock faster with lower latency and is easier the CPU memory controller.

Get two sticks up and running now start using and learning your system and then later if you decide you want to change out ram kits - go for it - Ram is a easy upgrade all things considered.

The simple answer is, only running 2 is the same as running 4 because its ‘dual channel’. There will be no advantage in bandwidth for having 2 sets of dual channel memory. If you were to have quad channel capabilities then it would be an advantage.

You can also run that third stick by itself in a single channel setup but people will tell you this is a bad idea. Really if all you do is browse the web or play some games, it doesnt matter much.

slap it in there and forget about it.