13900k Literally Ticking Like a Clock?

Hi all, long time L1 lurker but this is my first time posting.

I recently built a 13900k workstation and it has been pretty great/silent overall … but after stressing it a lot today there is this bizarre clock tick that is very audible. I tried to capture it here with a YT short (sorry, recorded in portrait mode) you might need to crank the volume. It is much louder when I play it on my phone, YT might be clipping some of that.

I cannot link to the video unfortunately. You can view it by recomposing the following parts:

youtube dot com
/shorts/T0tCFX30aTw

Any ideas? If I stop each fan 1 by 1 with my finger, the noise remains.

I have the CPU in performance mode because when it goes into a low idle state it would squeal like a pig, but not even close to this loud.

More specs here:

• 13900k, stock everything except XMP etc in bios no overclock
  • ASUS TUF Gaming Z790-PLUS Wifi D4
  • NOCTUA NH-D15 BLACK CPU COOLER
  • CORSAIR RM1000X PSU
  • Debian 12 Linux
  • Powercolor RX 6600 GPU

I am one of those OCD lunatics who wants complete silence so any help is appreciated. I don’t mind fan noise but this is something different for sure.

Welcome, @whalesalad!

Here’s the link:
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/T0tCFX30aTw

Hmmm. I can’t hear it personally. What’s the frequency/period?

It is happening about every second, or more frequently. You gotta crank to 100% volume to hear it unfortunately but it is quite loud in person. Sounds like an old school wall clock ticking.

After a reboot I was able to get it to stop. Squealing persists, but I fire up core ctrl and crank it to performance mode and the squealing stops. This seems to come and go randomly. Today it started after doing a long 1+ hour run of number crunching with python/polars.

Wondering if I have a bad PSU or motherboard.