10G LAN on LGA 2011?

Hello folks. I recently upgraded my internet and noticed that the new router/modem has a 10Gb port built in. My FreeNAS server has been running on regular gigabit since forever and I thought now would be the right time to upgrade to 10Gb.

I will be upgrading the software on my NAS to TrueNAS Core soon, and I need a pair of compatible 10Gb PCIe adapters as well as a 2/4 port 10Gb router but I’m not sure if the newer stuff is supported on my old LGA2011 board.

My NAS is using a SUPERMICRO X9SRA motherboard and my main rig has a ASUS ROG Crosshair VIII Dark Hero that already has a built in 2.5Gb port, which I want to upgrade to 10Gb.

I’m a complete novice when it comes to 10Gb stuff so I need recommendations for three items: The network adapters, the cables, and the router. Thanks folks!

With SFP+ and room to grow, Mikrotik CRS309-1G-8S+IN

3 Likes

Microtik definitely do seem to be doing great things for 10G networking at low cost.

As long as you have a PCIe slot open [x8], it shouldn’t be an issue [to attach 10GbE]

That will definitely work, if you’re on a budget an Intel X520 based card will work as well … 70-something on ebay vs 120-something for the X540

I have the same generation Motherboard, and use an X520 based card, I am also running the router in a VM inside truenas (so no physical router for me …) with multiple VLANs passed through and can saturate the 20Gbps link from inside the router VM when routing traffic (adding firewall filtering drops that to 17Gbps…)

Screenshot 2022-03-04 at 14.04.47

2 Likes

+1 for these switches, I got two recently and they tick all the boxes for me - full line-rate, 20Gbit link aggregation working fine on some Linux machines, silent, cheap (relatively). Working great with X550-T2 and Mellanox ConnectX 4 NICs, mix of FS and Mikrotik SFP+ modules.

1 Like