1 Year Linux Challenge: State Of Linux Usage After Many Years

Hi! I’m new to L1T, and I found the 1 Year Linux Challenge mega-thread, so I thought I’d do a summary write-up of my Linux experience over the years.

Depending on what counts, I’ve been using Linux on and off for the last 25 years or so, and full-time on my home system for the last 12 years or so. Here are some bits and bobs of these years that come to mind:

• I started with computing in my childhood, using other people’s computers: mostly C64s and Amigas but also the occasional PC here and there. Middle school had a lab consisting of about a dozen and a half Siemens-Nixdorf XTs with 8086 CPUs, 640K RAM, two 5.25" floppy drives, and amber monitors, which could be switched to show the content of a particular one. The master station had an external 20MB HDD. We used these with MS-DOS 2.11 and TurboBASIC/TurboPascal.
  • For my 13th birthday in 1990 I got my own Amiga 2000 (2nd-hand) with 1MB RAM, colour monitor, and a 24-pin printer. I used that (mostly for games, either long rounds of Civilization, or short rounds of Lotus Turbo Challenge, plus a few other games) until it became untenable in college, and I spent some money to buy a PC in 1998, with a PII 266MHz, 32MB RAM, 6.4GB HDD, and Windows 95, which was promptly upgraded to Windows 98 due to an offer by Microsoft to ship the disc out for free. Some time later I briefly tried Windows ME, and quickly went back to 98SE, as it was both saner, and snappier.