Zune HD Nostalgia

For the first time in about 2 years, I charged up my Zune HD and started listening to some music on it. I first got it when I was a freshman in high school, which was 2010. And I am amazed how well this thing has held up over the years. I was able to get through about a week without charging it when it was new, and still can to this day.

I chose the Zune HD over an iPod touch because I read that it had better audio quality… And it was less expensive with twice the storage (it had more to do with that, actually). I got comments on it, and everything that you would expect from just about anyone that saw it. But it did all of the things I needed it to do at the time. My music collection fit on to it, had a few lack-luster apps such as a metronome and solitaire, web browsing on plain html websites (most of the mobile versions of sites worked just fine for the better part of the first 2 or 3 years of using it).

The interface may not have been the best thought out, but it tried. The music browser is extremely clean assuming you have the metadata correct (if it’s not, it becomes messy really quickly) the ease to change playlists or songs is quick and doesn’t need much attention to the screen. The rest of the interface was to be desired, but from what changed between the Zune HD and Windows Phone 7 does show that what was good about the Zune’s interface was good… And last I checked, is still present in Windows Phone today.

Rant warning
I know this isn’t 4chan, but I can’t help myself…
>inb4 muh appps!