ZFS fails to import a zpool on Proxmox server startup

Hello everyone, I’m a beginner with a proxmox server mostly used for network storage, making images, and lab projects. I have two lvm pools and one Zfs zpool. I only used the zfs pool for some images and as a network drive for VM’s. I can delete it but I’d rather try to recover what I have and learn from it.

The zpool is called ssd-pool (creative I know), it’s three SSDs in a raidz1 config, cache = write-through.

Two weeks ago we lost power and on reboot the import service failed when importing the zpool.
I am also seeing AHCI errors so maybe I need to investigate further.

Startup error: "Failed to start Import ZFS pool ssd\x2dpool. ". But zpool status shows the pool is online, and it’s mounted although in the defaults page I set it to not auto-mount. I also added a ZFS_POOL_IMPORT=“ssd-pool” line to the defaults file.

Zpool import “ssd-pool” results in “cannot import ‘ssd-pool’ : a pool with that name
already exists”

I noticed that the log appeared to have the name wrong, the dash is replaced by “\x2d”.

the ZFS cache page has the name written correctly, and “zpool status” shows it is online.

Im going to try renaming the pool.

If anyone has any ideas or if I need to add more info, please let me know, many thanks!

1 Like

Have you checked the property “mounted” in case the mount point was already grabbed by the OS before ZFS could mount the dataset to it?

By which I meant there are 2 components, the Pool, and the filesystem on it. Looks like the pool is ONLINE but the filesystem/dataset might not be?

If it isn’t, could try ZFS mount -a?

2 Likes

OK, thanks for the suggestion. I checked using “zfs list -o mounted” and it reports yes.

I unmounted the pool and restarted, it auto mounted, but I looked closer at the logs and saw its because ZFS or proxmox does another import using the cache file and then mounts zfs file systems. It’s failing right before it does the cache import.