ZFS and Enterprise Gear Help

I am new with enterprise gear and learning has been fun.
here is what i have going on, I am replacing my home built 12 year old NAS that’s been running OMV for the last year, before that just plain debian.
I picked up a R710, MD1200 and 14ish 1TB hard drives, at some point i want to upgrade them.
My end goal is a NAS to get my digital life more organized, run Plex, something for music, book,audio books, self hosted cloud, etc. (oh I want VM Storage for my R410 maybe iscsi for that and 10gb in the future)
I’ll have a off site back and another copy on a external hard drive.
Right know my head hurts from trying to figure out the best way to setup everything up, i was wanting ZFS but its definitely not straight forward as mdadm raid5 i am using now. I cant complain madadm have served me well.
any advice would be great.

Well, setting up ZFS is not too much more involved than setting up mdadm .
You might also Look at btrfs as the file system on mdadm array, if you don’t already have it, IIRC is shares a few features- COW anti corruption, snapshots, portability.
Might need a UPS to avoid the raid5 write hole though.

I have seen BTRFS and raid 5/6 unstable from everything i have read and the tools are just not there yet, even thought ill have back up i don’t want to deal with corrupted filesystems were i have to start over.
ZFS seems to be rock solid with tools, but everyone got options on how things should be setup. losing 50% of my RAW space to mirrors like most people suggests seems crazy to me.

I will have 18 drives in total does 3 x6 drive RAIDZ2 sounds like a way to go?

I’d say it depends on how much you trust the drives, but yeah, that would net you good speeds, strong reliability, and each of the raidz2 sets can be upgraded later on, growing the pool with just 6 drives at a time, rather than the wholes shebang

or should i follow the advice in this blog? http://jrs-s.net/2015/02/06/zfs-you-should-use-mirror-vdevs-not-raidz/