XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer?

Saw the XYZprinting daVinci 1.0 3D Printer  for $400 USD shipped on NewEgg and wonder if it was worth a damn for printing parts. I looked a few videos, 1 guy used it to print a plug in socket for his electric car but, i wonder if it could be used to print parts, weather it be for your car or your laptop. Or will the plastic used to print be too weak and separate where the layers meet after some time?

I'm no expert in the topic but since I'm an architecture student I've delved a bit in the matter. 

The 3d printing is still a matter of trial and error situation, meaning that you have to experiment a lot before you can achieve a good result. For example the quality of the print can be greatly affected by the room temp (ex. air-conditioner on).

If you have the time and money to invest in 3d printing then you can give it a try (400 $ seams a good price). Generally if you can find the right calibrations for what you want to create (each model is different)  then the durability of the model is good enough (not for extreme situations). For example they print brackets parts for other 3d printers with PLA.

my only suggestion is to look if the 3d printer has a heated bed since it will help the model to stay on the surface and not cool too quickly.

I hope that I helped in a way to make a decision.

1 Like

yeah the XYZ has a heated bed. my only hangup is i haven't seen any printer with over 8x8x8 work area. it would be awesome to print out stuff like laptop parts.

There are a few that sport a 12x12x12 bed.

I think the XYZ has a special material you have to buy from them. I think there is a mod around that though. Just FYI.

1 Like

You install the modded unofficial pretterrier firmware, it rectifies just about every single last con and downside to the XYZ and improved print quality and open up software control. It has only a 7.8 x 7.8 x 7.8" heated bed though.