XFX RX590 bad cooler design and heat with crash issues

This will be a massive post as I’ve done a lot to try and cool this thing as best I could along with a lot of testing. Some cooling changes worked, some didn’t. I will focus on the 2 that made a measurable difference.

First a short summary so people can see that I did cover all the basics.

1. All drivers and BIOS is up to date.
  2. It is NOT a software problem… it is very much a hardware issue. See more below
  3. I’ve been building and modding PCs since the early 2000’s and I’ve worked as a software dev/engineer for over 15 years now. I am quite capable when it comes to building and fixing machines… and not just PCs either.
  4. XFX has a no return policy… so I can’t get my money back and just swapping the card I have for another one won’t change the design problems…
  5. I have never ever had any overheating problems with any of the PCs I have ever had and I used to have a overclocked AMD Socket 939 x2 machine with a passively cooled motherboard and passively cooled GPU. Those reading this who are old enough to know, will know how hot these 939 systems could get…
  6. Posting ‘You should not have bought AMD’ is just a waste of server storage for the forum. Besides, XFX is the guilty party here, not really AMD.
  7. With that said, one would think AMD would keep a closer eye on what their partners are doing.

PC Specs:
AMD FX 8320 with 4.5GHz overclock (It’s not the overclock!)
ASUS Sabertooth 990fx r2.0
16Gb DDR3 HyperX Fury 1866 CL9
Superflower 550W PSU
120Gb ADATA boot SSD
250Gb Samsung SSD for some games
2x500Gb HDD in RAID 0

First, I am very capable when it comes to machines in general. In South Africa… you have to be. Buying new tech here is very expensive.

Custom CPU brackets...