Xforma mbx mkii long term build log

THE BEGINNING

So I’m not quite sure how I made it to the point of building an Xforma MBX MKII. First I’ll give you a little background information. I’ve been building PCs for over 15 years now. Mostly building PCs for friends and family and the occasional friend of a friend kind of thing. Around 8 years ago I switched over to Apple and didn’t look back for the most part. Since then I’ve been more involved with web design, logo design etc, but stayed away from hardware for the most part only building a couple of PC’s a year.

A couple of years ago I decided I need to set up a Plex server for our home. So I purchased a HPE Gen8 Microserver to run Unraid and Plex. Since I like “messing” with things this didn’t satisfy my needs for very long. So when browsing for parts, well mostly a new case that would fit into the overall look I was going for with my existing media set up. I came across a case I remembered seeing a few years earlier. It was the HP Omen X. Now at this point, I didn’t have any plans to mod it but wanted to build something low powered that could run my Plex server since its running 24/7 low power consumption was the key. Eventually, I picked up all the bits I needed and put the server together in a couple of hours.

Just so this isn’t too boring for everyone to read I’ll add a couple of pictures to try and keep everyone interested.

XFORMA MBX MKII