Xbox and pc audio together

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie in this huge community (and also I'm Italian) so please don't hate me :)
I tried asking on an italian forum but I still haven't received any answer.
I wanted to ask you a few questions.
This will be my setup (hopefully soon): TV, xbox 360, pc and headphones. Both the xbox and the pc will be hooked up to the same tv. I don't have a set of speakers but I'm planning on getting one.
The computer I'm building will be used for listening to some music, gaming and watching movies.
I just want to hook up my pc and xbox audio outputs to a single source such as a sound card or external dac.
First question: is it possible?
Second question: do I need a soundcard or an external dac?
Third and final question: will you be so kind to help me with the choice? I have a budget of 2-300 bucks.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Giacomo

I believe you just need a DAC with multiple inputs. Not sure how well Xbox works with USB DACs, so I'd recommend an optical input for the Xbox and an USB for the PC.

Using a soundcard for Xbox audio would be impractical since it's in your PC and probably only has a PCI(e) input for digital audio.

Here's a DAC+AMP combo with USB and optical inputs for 210€:

http://www.firestone-audio.eu/shop/products/allproductslisted/fubarhd.php

Thanks a lot sir, you solved almost all of my problems. I have two more questions to ask you, though.

First one: is the creative sound blaster x-fi hd suitable for this job? Maybe I'm just a noob, but I've heard the brand creative before, and unfortunately not the one you told me. I just ask because I was searching around and some people talked very well about the x-fi hd, and I believe it has the multiple inputs I need. (does it?)

Second one: if it suits the job, is the x-fi any good? How does it compares to the other one?