X11conf does not remember multi monitor setup

I have a 24" Samsung SyncMaster P2450 (1920x1080) and a secondary monitor 17" Dell (1024x768). The secondary should be positioned at the right and aligned to the bottom. But the configuration is not remembered after a restart: the secondary shows the same as the SyncMaster (cropped at 1024x768). I always have to reposition the screens on the nvidia x server settings in the display configuration. saving the changes to xorg.conf (made by the configuration window) does not help.

What changes have to be made to remember the display positions?

Here’s the (current) config saved by the settings dialog:

# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings:  version 367.35  (buildd@lgw01-18)  Tue Aug  9 10:11:49 UTC 2016

Section "ServerLayout"
    Identifier     "Layout0"
    Screen      0  "Screen0" 0 0
    InputDevice    "Keyboard0" "CoreKeyboard"
    InputDevice    "Mouse0" "CorePointer"
    Option         "Xinerama" "0"
EndSection

Section "Files"
EndSection

Section "Module"
    Load           "dbe"
    Load           "extmod"
    Load           "type1"
    Load           "freetype"
    Load           "glx"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
    Identifier     "Mouse0"
    Driver         "mouse"
    Option         "Protocol" "auto"
    Option         "Device" "/dev/psaux"
    Option         "Emulate3Buttons" "no"
    Option         "ZAxisMapping" "4 5"
EndSection

Section "InputDevice"

# generated from default
    Identifier     "Keyboard0"
    Driver         "kbd"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"

# HorizSync source: builtin, VertRefresh source: builtin
    Identifier     "Monitor0"
    VendorName     "Unknown"
    ModelName      "CRT-0"
    HorizSync       28.0 - 55.0
    VertRefresh     43.0 - 72.0
    Option         "DPMS"
EndSection

Section "Device"
    Identifier     "Device0"
    Driver         "nvidia"
    VendorName     "NVIDIA Corporation"