WSL vs cygwin

Hi Everyone,

I didn’t see any posts around this lately.

TLDR: My work told me WSL is insecure and that I can use Cygwin instead…

So I’m a network engineer at a large security minded organization. We have a very locked down windows environment. I can’t install any software on my laptop myself, desktop has to make pushes to my laptop for me. I come from a Linux background and not being able to use tools like mtr, nmap, whois, and awk is killing me. So I reached out to security asking if they were willing to evaluate WSL for production use. Was just given a vague response that they looked into it and found that it was not secure. We have a local install of Cygwin that I was pointed to. Turns out its hot garbage, or at least the package we have local is.

“ls /usr/bin | grep ssh” takes over 35 seconds to return…

Does anyone have any thoughts on security issues with WSL? And does anyone know how I can make Cygwin less awful? Anyway thanks for any thoughts or solutions.

Their response reeks of your typical “I don’t care and I’m too busy to do anything more than pretend to entertain your request” response. I’d like to see them try to explain how WSL is insecure, but Windows is secure.

I remember running Cygwin on my Windows XP laptop back in school and using it to crack into a WEP network. The WLAN card I had didn’t have drivers for Linux so this was the only way I could get the job done.

I used to work somewhere with a similar policy. The Linux admins fought for and got permission for WSL, the main crux of the opposition was that security et al, could not prevent people from installing Linux tools onto a secured Windows laptop once they had WSL. Personally I found it amusing, I had long been using the standalone versions of Putty, and MobaXterm to either create SSH tunnels to circumvent security rules that blocked my work, or to run Linux commands and tools that I needed :wink: