WRX80 vs TRX40, Worth the Jump / Price Difference?

Hi there,

I’m a video editor / 3D artist about to buy a new system and I can’t decide whether to go with a TRX40 or WRX80 system.

Breakdown:

3975wx v 3970x
128gb ram (8 Sticks) vs (4 Sticks)
Designare vs Gigabyte WRX80
2000 Watt PSU
3 x GPUS - 1 x 3090 2 x 3080ti’s
TB3 Card
8TB Raid AIC Card (4x XPG Blades 2tb)

Essentially its about £1200 difference between the two systems.

while it would be more cost effective to go TRX40 I would be hindered to 2 x GPUS with the number or PCIE Slots and wanting to use both TB3 and AIC which come included with the motherboard yet another additional cost for the wrx80.

WRX80 would be a build in which I could keep adding cards if need be and not worry about the PCIE Lanes but after see how much of a difference it is I’m now stuck with my choice.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

1 Like

What is the bottleneck on your current workload?

Wrx80 has more ram capacity but if you only want 128gb you don’t need the extra.

Pcie lanes depends on motherboard. May be worth waiting to January for new threadripper. Depends if you need it immediately

Essentially PCIE Lanes, I have a 3950x consumer system and looking to jump up to something that can accommodate multiple gpus and Fast storage solutions for materials / models / Video file for edits etc.

Work primarily in Unreal engine, redshift, cinema 4d and usual adobe bits.

Is January happening for the new threadripper ?

Seen bits about delays and not potentially doing the 5000 series for wrx80.

I just have bought into the WRX80 platform myself, ordered this morning and hope its great upgrade from LGA 1200.