Workhorse build

Hi, I’ve been planning a pc upgrade for the past 3 years and my 5820k/asus x99m-ws setup gave it’s last breath after 6 years of service. I’m second guessing myself over and over if i should go for a full passthrough (full atx size) or a simple dual boot(pocket rocket itx/dtx) setup. I’m reaching out as i’ll probably be in the same dilemma until my ancient dell m4800 dies. I’ll be rocking it professionally for the next 3 to 5 years so my budget will be in between 3000 to 5000 euros/dollars (give or take a few, the cheaper the better :smiley: ).

What will i use it for:

• Main OS is Linux. I’m an Infrastructure engineer that is currently going all-in on the SRE hype train. So development in Python/Go/Bash(yes, it’s a full blown language :smiley:) , a ton of virtualisation and containers, db benchmarks and stress tests,… I know some of this could be outsourced to a cloud provider but I do like my setup as close/responsive as possible.
  • I sometimes play the occasional game with friends (monthly)
  • 3d modelling (fusion 360 for CNC)
  • Growing interest in machine learning

I am as good as convinced that i’m going the amd 5000 series and get either the 5900x or 5950x. The big struggle are the motherboards/ram combos and gpu’s. I need my ram timings tight and the bandwidth as high as possible (I come from quad channel 3200mhz cl16 setup). I currently don’t care about ECC until i will :stuck_out_tongue: Thunderbolt is always welcome if it’s available. So in general, i need raw horsepower and reliability (16h a day on time and probably 6h a day crunchtime). I included the machine learning part as it’s a growing interest for a personal db tuning project. I know nvidia is currently top with CUDA, I also noticed ROCm getting a lot of love. My preference is going to AMD because of the OpenSource drivers and overall linux compatibility out of the box but if nvidia is just miles ahead, i would consider it. Oooh, nothing beats a silent system!

1 Like