Wordpress alternatives

As regularly comes up in Level1 news, wordpress is really quite horrible, and I have been tasked with remaking a site that is currently using it. Is there anyone who has moved multiple non-technical users to another CMS and what are your experiences?

I asked this exact question on both the latest news video and its post here on the forum.

I too would like to know.

1 Like

I’m not a professional at this stuff by any means, but I did work on some sites recently.

I’ve used both Squarespace and Wix with success. I’d say Squarespace has a slightly steeper learning curve, but is a little more slick looking out of the gate.

The built in templates for both are helpful since a lot of stuff is already formatted, the user just needs to swap out pictures and info for their own stuff. They are actually kind of similar to PowerPoint where you can have things snap to left/right/center or equidistant from other things so aligning everything is easy.

The site I put together for a local club I went with Wix because it was cheaper at the time. My employer is toying with the idea of changing our site away from Wordpress at some point and we’ll probably go Wix or Squarespace at that point in time.

1 Like

wordpress is really quite horrible

I actually disagree with this. The Wordpress ecosystem is garbage for the same reason the PHP ecosystem is ridiculed: terrible code has extensive reach.

Wordpress itself? Not actually that bad for what it does.

multiple non-technical users to another CMS

The absolute worst thing about Wordpress is that it allows users to upload files. Any CMS that allows that is going to have the same problems as Wordpress because the easiest way to do that in a hosting environment is give the webserver write permissions.

This is a terrible practice, but commonly done.

I’ve found nothing that compares to Wordpress in terms of flexibility, ease of use for non-technical users, and broad community support.