Windows 10 has officially tuned me to LINUX(ubuntu)

I dont know about anyone else but ive been contemplating on moving to linux since the 8.1 release. it was a bit harder for me to move since i had faith that windows would improve things. being a user since win 3.1.

however..... these last few months are after one horrible update after another i just found myself not being able to take it anymore. thanks to wendell old linux videos i took the leap to ubuntu and fell in love with it. the terminal is my favorite thing ever. windows cmd was not as smooth. considering i am a new developer to web/backend vs my c#/c++ based past im not looking back. however not having visual studio sucks. it was a very good IDE.

Conclusion, ive started switching all my servers to strickly linux and laptops. gaming pc however still has win10 due to helping my other gamer friends on their pcs. also one of my gaming servers is win server 12. With all the new windows usless apps running in the background im surprised anything works

8 Likes

im asking myself that too

1 Like

ive never known anyone how has used linux. ive actually learned all this on my own/ with teks help.

my daily driver is a linux now. i only use my gaming pc when im playing video games. i have a powerful thinkpad so i just dock it and us it as my work/ casual computer.

i dont get to game as much as i would like.

3 Likes

I switched daily drivers over a year ago when I got a new computer. I experimented with ubuntu in 2009 with virtual folding machines and have missed it ever since. The windows 10 reviews were so bad I decided it was finally time to commit.

I have no idea what I'm doing, but every time I boot into windows 7 for solidworks I immediately miss ubuntu.

Got any tips on how to make Linux your daily driver? I've been struggling to do so for the last five months.