Win8 dwm.exe @ 100% cpu while idle?

I have an Asus k5t3a laptop. Started with win7 and upgraded to win 8 awhile ago. When I leave the computer for 10 minutes the fans go to high speed and will stay that way until I come back. If I click resource monitor quick enough I see that dwm.exe eats up to 100% of the cpu. I've tried searching google and have found some threads about this problem but haven't found a true solution.
Being as I'm limited in my computer skills can anyone mentor me thru this? Being self taught, in some areas I have knowledge but there is some areas I don't even know what I don't know....
Right this second I'm heading to work for several hours so I won't be responding right away.
TIA,
Richard

dwm.exe is the Destkop Windows Manager. It's been known to sometimes use all the resources at idle if Outlook is running or if you use a 3rd party antivirus such as Avast or AVG.
My only suggestion at this point would be to shut down Outlook or disable your antivirus and see if that solves it.

@CaptainChaos Thanks for the answer. I've been running windows defender for quite awhile but switched to Avast about a month ago. The problem was there before I switched. I took your advise and shut off Avast and no change, the dwm.exe was hogging cpu. I then tried suspending explorer.exe and again no change. Until I restarted explorer I couldn't switch between program windows, so at least I learned one of the things that explorer does.
I did know that dwm was a windows manager, and it seems weird that it hogs resources when the screen is black, and should be sleeping. I have the on/off key set to "sleep" and if I put the computer to sleep that way, then it usually stays good. But occasionally it will awaken on its own and dwm.exe is hogging cpu again. I suspect it may be some program that is allowed to update or run at certain intervals causing this behaviour, but haven't been able to narrow it down.