Win/linux Dual boot on 2 hard drives

I have never used or installed linux before and it's time for my bi-annual "clear the crap out and format windows" session. I reckon now is good time to get started with linux, especially thanks to Steam.

Will probably give Ubuntu a go to start with.

I have a 40 GB SSD and a 2TB Sata drive.

Windows 7 64bit will be the priority OS for gaming reasons so for the time being it will remain on the SSD. After all programs are installed I don't think much room will be available for linux on the same drive. I am hoping to install linux onto a partition in the sata drive instead.

If I install onto the sata drive, should I use the "Install along side windows" option they provide:

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/windows-installer

Or just get the regular installer?

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop

Any idea how the boot manager might behave? Also hoping to avoid have to boot via BIOS priority options.

Any other newb advice is appreciated too. Worst case scenario is it goes wrong and I need to format machines which is happening anyway.

Much appreciated.

It might a little tricky to set up Linux at first (BTW I recommend Mint over Ubuntu for Windows users), becuase when ubuntu asks where to install, you're going to have click "Something else" and manually set the partitions yourself.