Why I don't use Linux

Really I should start out by saying I like the idea of Linux and would use it if I could. Also I used Linux Ubuntu, Linux Gnome and Ubuntu MATE.

I use Windows 7 currently, without the spyware related updates. I use programs like Skype, Steam, etc and others that simply don't work. Yes I'm aware of the alternatives and yes even Skype has a program for Linux but it is old and buggy. The games I play arn't on Steam except TF2. I use a Lenovo ThinkPad T420 (Hopping to get a shot at getting the eBay build because I would like to play new games.) and Linux doesn't like it much, Doesn't work with Optimus (not well at least) Neither my mics or webcam worked right (and I tried multiple times and forums) And most of all for me it sucked up battery life (except Ubuntu MATE) Im also a student trying to get into the IT field and Windows is all we really learn with. So right now Linux isn't for my, sorry maybe another day.

Because going around the forum I noticed others like this but in different topics...

Just fyi, your first two linuxes were both identical. and mate is based on ubuntu but more of an actual distro from what i know. The problems with your T420 might be from using an old version of Linux. the T series generally works well with Linux, but sometimes requires updated versions of the kernel (4.2 where as ubuntu is on 3.19.) that said, yes, optimus sucks, im not sure if it got any better which is a shame, its why i got a laptop with intel graphics.

You'll hate me for this.. dont use skype, its just a massive data collection program. but yeah, i think they discontinued development last year, its not int here interests, but its integrated with outlook, maybe you can get the same functionality through that..

My suggestion to you. Next time your in the need for a new computer, get it with Linux in mind, you have far fewer problems with hardware (none at all actually, ive not had problem for years)