Why Do People Hate Gnome 3?

I've been using Linux for about 4 or 5 years now and I've used all types of UIs for Linux. I've heard a lot of people complain about their dislike of Gnome 3. Personally I have no issues with it. I find it great for productivity and it's one the the few UIs I've seen take use of the Windows/Power/Command Key. If you've used Gnome 3 let me know what your opinions are about it as I'm really curious.

It's a developer thing.

Gnome and GTK developers are... well...  lets say "not the easiest people to work with"  :D

This is the general consensus among non Gnome and GTK linux developers and has caused a bit of a flow on effect into the regular everyday general linux populous.

QT FTW lol.

For me, Gnome 3 feels very claustrophobic, it feels like it's trying to herd me into doing things they way Gnome wants them done, not the way I want it. The fact that you have so little direct customization options sure hurts it a lot.

As for the windows key, you could try awesome. In its default configuration, it uses the key for everything. And once you go tiling, you never go back (kidding, but it's a very different experience).

GNOME does have a tiling plugin shell shape. 

I run it with Cairo dock and it works well for me.

awesome doesn't use as many resources compared to gnome, and I really like using Lua to modify the configuration files or to create my own widgets.

I have complete control over my environment in awesome. Although xmonad might be even better, with the support for creating window rules. Too bad I don't know Haskell.

For whatever reason GNOME 3 is the only GUI that likes my sound card Asus essence STX.

I don't like Gnome because it runs pretty slow. I don't really care for the design either. My favorite DE is Mate.

Its okay, but its largely touch screen based, and I havent herd of any Linux user using touch, or if it even works well, unsure there anyways.