Which Linux distro to use

Ok guys so I recently bought a new pc, well second hand new to me.

It's running a amd apu A10 6800k 12gb of ram (8gb & 4gb chips not so sure about that lol.)pretty basic, going to upgrade the psu and get a r9 380 in the future.

But I've gone off track. I wanted to see what distro of Linux you'll recommend. I'm a noob at Linux, was running Ubuntu on a laptop about 8 years ago and found the experience very enjoyable but ended up switching to xp as I was having trouble with getting some games to work.

This computer will be used initially as a media pc and light gaming (want to see how the apu fares.) and then will be gaming heavily once I had the gpu.

So what would you recommend and why. Also feel free to mention any other programs that are useful.

If you're going to do that I would suggest Debian or Mint. I'm my opinion they're best suited and are not weighted by heavy GUI. Also those distro are really well supported by the community and you'll find a almost everything in their repository. If you also need to get some work done Fedora is, in my opinion, the best distro you can go for.

First off: scrap that 380 and put RX 480 on your list.

Then install Ubuntu Mate or Xubuntu (<- I like that one) 16.04.
When you get your card, the new AMDGPU-PRO driver might be out of beta. And then ... happy gaming! :D

1 Like

Meh there will be no best distro for everyone, try out a few and see which you like the most. I'll list a few things:

== Distros ==
Ubuntu - Based on Debian, owned by a big company, works well if you don't want to mess with stuff.
Mint - Seems good for the average consumer, probably more intresting than Ubuntu.
Fedora - Owned by a big company, bit nerdier than Ubuntu.
Arch - If you have a thick skin, like tinkering and want to be forced to learn Linux this is for you. Rolling Release.

== Desktop Enviroments ==
Unity (Ubuntu standard DE) - Simple, it works, you can change some things, but I'm not a fan.