Which File System

I am rebuilding my Linux PC because I am annoyed with having to update xubuntu to a newer version. I plan to give Manjaro a try since it has rolling updates.

My current system has one 500GB sdc using ext4 (root) and four 1T mech drives running in a software RAID 10 (home). I want to dump the RAID 10 so I am thinking.

one 500GB SDC using ext4 (root)
four 1T mech drives using zfs (home)

Does this sound like a good plan? I am a complete noobie when it comes to zfs. Would this be as fast and secure as RAID 10?

Also, I think I have another 500GB sdc is there an easy way to make root redundant, something like RAID 1 but not RAID?

Although your install will be more complex (you will need to worry about a boot partition and manage swap - I don’t have swap, but there are guides around), how about ZFS all the way? I personally think it is much easier to manage (after the more complex install). “zpool” manages sets of disks and “zfs” manages datasets. I even use ZFS on single disks (for consistency of management). You can create a pool to replicate your RAID10. You can also use raidz-2 across the 4 disks that will keep your data if any 2 disks are lost (may be better or not depending on your needs). Use the extra 500Gb drive as a mirror of your boot.

As a noobie, why not use the spare 500Gb to play and see if you like it. You won’t be able to create complex pools, but it will let you try out the commands and the philosophy.

1 Like

I did leave out boot and swap to streamline the post.

Just to recap, I would setup root (2 500gb SDC) as zfs (zpool) and home (4 1T drives) as zfs (zpool).

Can zpool be partitioned for boot, root and swap? Or partition the drive with boot, root and swap and then zpool root with the other 500GB drive?

Is there a good zfs guide that would help me to understand what I am doing?