Which AMD processor is best for game development?

Looking to create games with Unreal Engine 4 looking at 3 different processor.
1 ryzen 7 3700x
2 threadripper 1950
3 threadripper 2920
Not sure which is best to start with?
Gpu will be a Radeon vii

Its older, but its the witch you’re looking for

:wink:

3 Likes

edited your title, please do write more descriptive titles next time.

good luck with your choice.

3 Likes

Consider 5700XT… Cheaper, about the same gaming performance… Lower power consumption, even the stock cooler is quieter…

No… no no no… It trips over ot’s feet in gaming…

Do you really need all the PCIe lanes?

Think about 3900X… extra cores for background stuff, better in gaming, better in pretty much everything.

Are you a mod now? Bugger me bum…

he is looking for game dev not just gaming, he’ll need threads for compiling all dat c++ and ue4 lighting and shaders and what not.

that said i am no expert in modern cpus or gpus.

as for editing titles, regurals can do it.

5 Likes

A 3900X is gonna outperform a 1950X as well as a 2920X in most use cases with less memory issues and on a way cheaper platform. If it turns out that that is still not enough grunt, you can upgrade to the 16-core later.

4 Likes

Ryzen 3000 are on average about 15-20% faster than the previous 2000 generation. Also 3900X is 12 core 24 threads, but on AM4 instead of the massively expensive Threadripper socket systems…

1 Like

Thank you to all who replied. Sorry it took so long to get back I was at work.
3900x out of my price range it’s around $700+ with motherboard. All three cpus I can get for around 500 with motherboard. I just not sure which would be better more cores or a processor I can upgrade later or both? Then there’s quad channel memory and all those pci Lanes for threadripper.🤷