Where should I start?

I want to learn to code and I have a strong belief that by learning to code in one or two languages I can satisfy my creative desire to both automate my life and create things from scratch.

I need some guidance on where to start? As a side note if its something that is highly useful in the job market then I would be interested in that as well. I really want to learn something that can be utilized in work to either make my personal job easier by automating redundant tasks or allowing me to more or less make my own software to do things I already tediously do manually.

I’ve heard good things about python but figured someone looking from the top down might have some insights into whats good and why before I waste countless sleepless nights learning something that may not be as useful as targeted towards what I want.

1 Like

Hey @Sirwestofash !

I’m a former Java dev turned C# dev who went to a 4 year university and majored in CS. I’m currently working at a mid-large size company but started at a super small no-name place. While formal education isn’t mandatory or cheap, its just what I happened to have done and its most not all of what I see on resumes.

That said, I have friends/coworkers in the industry who have not gotten a formal degree in CS of any kind, but have good work experience. Most of what I see is passion shining through in personal endeavors such as what you seem to be expressing in your post.

There are plenty of free and low cost educational materials on Coursera and Udemy (i’ve taken “classes” on both for my own further learning) and also multitudes of “how to get started programming” threads out there.

If you’re looking for a recommendation on what language to use, I would lean towards something Object Oriented just because thats my own experience. I’m hoping someone on here has a more varied experience and can shine light on avenues to take that aren’t like mine.