Where do I start with Linux?

So as the title says I want to Linux and I don't know where to start. I've been using the Ubuntu distro for a few years now and at first I just thought it was cool to have a full fledge OS for free but now I've started slowly growing more of an appreciation for the Open Source and Linux world as a whole. I want to learn how to do things myself as well one day maybe making it a hobby to contribute. I'm sure there's been tons of people who say things like this and it's annoying because you have alot of tutorial post and such and for that I apologize. I'm just looking for a good place to start and you can send me on my way. I'm looking for both a starting place distro wise, like would you recommend this or that or does it depend on what you want, and if there's any good video tutorials as well as other written resources. To give you an idea of where I'm at currently, and please don't laugh. I know that 'sudo-apt get install' will let me install something :P But again I am looking to go much much further than that down the line.

Edit: Yes I know that it isn't just some magic world of "Oh I know command line prompts I'm a code master now" Everything has it's meanings and points and ect. That is something I want to get into.

Good day @cleb

I would personally recommend starting with Ubuntu or Fedora, I have been using Ubuntu Gnome for a little while and really like the desktop environment that it offers. There is much you can do with the shell (Or terminal) that you can check out. below i have left a few resources on linux that you can check out at your leisure. If you have any more questions feel free to post them and i will do my best to answer

a few resources for you to check out
http://explainshell.com/
https://forum.teksyndicate.com/t/linux-software-list/77465
http://www.freeos.com/guides/lsst/
http://ss64.com/bash/

1 Like