What's wrong with my USB 2.0 Drive?

Got a run of the mill 4GB PNY USB drive. File System is set to FAT32. Used it for the entirety of my CAD program when I studied drafting. Have all of my notes and everything on there. I decided I wanted to copy them all to my PC. And connecting it involved waiting around 5 minutes for the damn thing to respond.

Every action you make takes at least a few to several minutes. Opening a folder. Opening up the Properties of a folder. EVERYTHING. What the hell is going on with this thing all of the sudden, out of the blue? When I always used it, it read, transferred data and worked normally and reliably. It worked like any USB drive. Also, whenever I try and access something it locks up during those several minutes every time. Incredibly frustrating. I got a file copy error before. Now it too is out-of-the-blue GONE. When you try and copy something it calculates a mere 29 MBs and just HANGS. What the HELL is wrong with this thing? It never had this issue before.

Also, if it matters the error code I get when trying to copy, or I USED to get anyway was 0x80004005

:man_shrugging:

It sounds like it’s dying. When that happens your files may already be partially corrupted when copying them.

I’d say, backup what you need and throw it out.

You should never trust a USB drive for backups, those things are built cheap.
I had this with a videofile I wanted to transfer over, the MD5Sum was different everytime I copied it off the drive. The file played fine too. I retested that with Btrfs (a linux FS) and there I immediately got an I/O error when reading the data. Conclusion: don’t trust them. They may silently corrupt.

4 Likes

Just like Zennoe said your USB drive is about to die so if you can make an image out of it asap and stop accessing it that would be best to not lose all your data.