What's a good portable audio recorder?

Im after a decent portable recorder preferably with at least 24bit 48khz audio recording in Stereo. I would like it to be high quality ( obviously ) semi-pro is fine. A sensitive Mic is a must it is not just for localised recordings it is more so for ambient.

Any info appreciated.

I'm not sure of the specs, but I've been looking at those Zoom H1-series of portable field-recorders.

There is a Youtuber called 'Zoffinger' that utilises this portable recorder.

1 Like

Thanks thats the phrase! portable field recorder. I m going to amend my OP

1 Like

or not, because i hit my edit limit.

Logan had one of the larger portable field-recorders that he used on the earlier series of the Tek Syndicate.

This was a large rectangular black box with the furry windsock on it, I can't remember the brand.

1 Like

I remember it well , I wasn't aware it was able to capture ambient. I am a noob here, I need to record stuff potentially upto a few hundred feet away, albeit in a quite environment, are these units capable of that ?

I think you need a recorder that is fairly sensitive to record audio that is a few 100ft away, I assumed that you were after a recorder to record a person close to the device.

No I need ambient ability :)

1 Like

Affordable:

(I have one of these... they're VERY good for the price)

Pro: (add your choice of mic)

Im watching some reviews. The Zoom H5 is a touch over budget and i may go with the H4, they feature XLR . I shall go and watch some DR-05 reviews though.

The DR680 looks pretty sweet, im sure it won't take too long to find a good make. Multichannel might be something to consider given its usage scenario.

Zoom h4n and tascam dr40 fit the bill. I own the tascam, use the zooms regularly for work, both are great!

1 Like