What version of Linux and why

First of all, sorry for being such a noob. I want to start off using Linux like Wendell recommends, but I do not know what distro/desktop edition is better. Also which one preforms best for gaming. If you have a recommendation please state the reason why its better than the other (I have no Linux experience). I don't want to hear any fanboyism so please keep everything objective. Thank you in advance.

I am newer to linux myself, I started on Mint 17.1 but ran into problems with cinnamon and such moved to Ubuntu gnome as logan has. there is lots of documentation and support for both, however some of the guts of the two are older. Others might recommend that you start on fedora.

Being newer to actually using linux I can't say for sure what you should use, I would wait a bit to see what some of the other people chim in on.

1 Like

The best way to try out linux in its many flavours is to use a virtual machine. VMware player is easy to get and setup. Virtualbox is another choice. Then just get your ISOs and try them out.

Make sure you have virtualization turned on in your bios if you go down this route.

1 Like

There is no better distro. It all about what distro fits better your needs. That why they exist anyway. Because a team of people thought that something was missing from the Linux environment and made a distro to fill the gap.

I think that Mint 17.1 for a noobie is the best choice. Basically because most things work out of the box, cinnamon is a great GUI while being very familiar for people coming from Windows, its ubuntu based thus ubuntu packages work in Mint also and provides good control over the OS updates making it easier for a noobie to maintain. But there are many user friendly distros out there that you might like. check this thread: https://forum.teksyndicate.com/t/1-year-linux-challenge/74682

You can always try them in a virtual machine to see which one seem better for you in terms of feeling at least.