What programming languages should I learn?

I'm a beginner programmer, I've learnt a couple of languages already, but I want to learn more and I want to know what I should, realistically learn.

I currently have basic knowledge of:

• Java
  • JavaScript/jQuery
  • HTML/XML (If you want to count these, I don't myself, but I know some do)
  • CSS/CSS3 (Also if you want to count this, I also do not)
  • ActionScript
  • VB
  • PHP
  • Python
  • Ruby
  • C#
  • Fortran
  • Haskell
  • C (Hello World sorta level)
  • C++ (Also Hello World sorta level)
  • Perl (Also hello world kinda stuff)
  • I will learn SQL, sometime this winter in uni

Is there anything else I should learn? - BTW. I haven't learnt the likes of fortran and haskell through choice, it's a part of my course at university, so is Java, but I had the intention on learning Java anyway.

I've also been learning OOP style programming, but this is the only type/style of programming that we're learning in my university, is there any other type of programming that I should start learning? What's the most common in the field of software/web development?

I think I would like to go on to do some sort of web development job, but I'm unsure, is there much of a difference between web development and software development?

Also are there more web development jobs compared to software development jobs? A web developer friend of mine thinks that there are more web development jobs out there in comparison to software development jobs, but that's one person.

1 Like

I would really learn C++ and C

If you have mastered those two languages, then you will pretty much always have a job.

For web development you really do not even need to do any programming any more. So much of web development is now done with programs that will just auto generate code, that anyone can make a web page.