What Linux Distro?

Hello,
I am somewhat new to the world of Linux, I have used Ubuntu a few yrs back on my main system for a few months due to lack of games (pre Steam OS). I really liked the OS and the system performance, and would of not switched back if it wasn't for the lack of games. Now I found out that I can passthrough the GPU and run a VM of Windows when I feel like gaming with my buddies, really excited for this! Now I am trying to figure out what Linux to use, what Linux has better support for the gpupassthrough? or is it all the same?

I over all liked the look of Unity, but hear the support is ending, and that it's not the best. I stumbled onto Kali, is that good? Or is that mostly for testing security stuff?
Any suggestions?

Thanx in advance, and sorry for so many noob questions.

Fedora

5 Likes

Its not meant as a daily distro.

3 Likes

Id just stick with Ubuntu, honestly it is the most user friendly distro i've tried and most major software firms who release software to linux develop, and test against ubuntu e.g. netflix and so on.
also personally i really like apt-get, it really makes life easy, where instead of searcing all corners of the web for package-dependency xyz, you simply apt-get install mypackage, and if the depencies aren't met, package wont install, doesn't get easier.
Also steam is mostly all'bout the debian, so that certainly makes life alot easier.
Just grab a LTS release and you're golden for a few years. e.g. 16.04 or so on.
It's just my 5 cents really.

p.s. it should be noted that passthrough is supported by ubuntu, and it is cough easy to setup if you find the right guide.
but honestly you'd be better off just having a windows game server running steam for for "windows only" games. Or just have a VM run your games then stream them to your ubuntu desktop, all the other jazzmatzz with seperate monitors are kind of blown out of proportions, unless you're running "windows only" software like adobe what ever.

3 Likes