What is SLI and CrossFire?

I'm new to building computers etc. and I've heard of these two terms and have no idea what they mean. I have used google but the answers I got were to complicated, is there a simple way to explain? If not thanks for your time!

SLI and Crossfire are the Same thing (From the prospective of a PC enthusiast) Basically the Term SLI (from the Nvidia Side of the GPU market is the process of using 2 GPUS (Graphics Cards) to help Accelerate 3D Applications. (Games, Rendering and all that Goodness)  Basically Using 2 GPUS to get better performance than one GPU.

Crossfire (From the AMD Side is the same thing just a different name [the Process of using 2 GPUs to help Accelerate 3D Applications] (Games, video editing or whatever) same thing using 2 Graphics cards to get better performance.

Basically they're AMD and Nvidia's technology's that allow you to use multiple graphics cards to render the game. it works by 1 graphics card rendering out a frame, and then the other graphics card renders the next frame. This cycle can be used with up to 4 cards. Although its not efficient to use more than 2 cards because games are only made to use 2 cards. You could gain with 3 cards, but most games don't code for that.  

in a few years time they will probably start coding for more than 2 cards huh?

Probably not. Its not a big thing because most people cannot afford 2 cards. Nvidia used to push it but, they and AMD have backed off because no one actually has more than 3 cards. Stuff like rendering machines use it with sometimes more than 4 cards to speed up performance even more. There is a quad Gtx 690 (one  690 has 2 Gtx 680 cores on it) rendering system on YouTube. Here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FPCA34EVoIw

Probably but i doubt people would want to live with 4 GPUS in a System the Power Usage would be insane. and there is a Sacrifice that comes with using an SLI or Crossfire Setup. there are things that can go wrong here are some of them.