What do you use to compile and debug when using text editors?

Sorry silly question but I came into coding in the time where on Windows you just use Visual Studio.

But you can’t delve into history without hearing great things about other editors such as Vim.

But I’m a strictly text based editor how are you compiling and debugging languages that actually need compiling.

Sorry I’m new. Just think I’m missing out on some useful knowledge here.

I don’t like not learning more traditional ways just because something new comes out.

1 Like

It depends on the language you are using.
For random “daily” things like configs and just a general “useful tool around the house” I use SublimeText.

For coding/compiling and stuff I use IntelliJ Idea (for Java). Eclipse was also a good thing, but once I ended up in a “IntelliJ snob” project, so ended up using it for a year till today. Can’t say it’s better, just something I’ve used recently (and my hands got used to it).

Vim is a good thing, but I feel it’s good for the people, who actually had no alternative in their days, so moving to something different is a “it’s not Vim”. Personally, when it comes to working from the console, I go for Nano (but I’m a fairly new to Linux).

Depends on the language and the kind of software you’re developing.

make is typical and one of the oldest tools that people use to wrap whatever other language specific things developers choose to use.

For hacky home stuff you’d just type compiler commands into a Makefile in the root of your project.

… or maybe even don’t have a Makefile if you just have everything in one directory.

For that kind of use it doesn’t matter what languages you’re using or if you’re even building code.

For example, to distribute your c code, typically you’d use something like autoconf and automake. Autoconf is a tool you invoke when you add/remove dependencies from your code, it’s what generates the configure script.