What do you think of this Small Business setup?

I volunteered to look at/re-do the network setup of a non-profit health-center that my partner works at, as they have been having connectivity issues (after seeing their network setup I can see why) with internet-based card payments and general email/workflow.

Old setup:

• Modem: Netgear CG3000DCR (via Comcast business)
  • Wireless Router: TRENDnet TEW-692GR (up to 450 Mbps)
  • AC 1: Engenius EAP9550 (up to 300 Mbps)
  • AC 2: Cisco-Linksys WAP54G (up to 54 Mbps)

I am not an expert in networking yet as I am just starting in the industry. After doing some research considering their budget this is what I think would be an excellent upgrade that allows for some future proofing in regards to adding IP-based PoE Ubiquiti security cameras down the line, VLAN separation between the practitioners/guests, and ability to troubleshoot from home.

New setup:

• Modem/Gateway: Cisco DPC3939B (via Comcast business)
  • Ubiquiti Edgerouter X SFP
  • Ubiquiti US-8-60W Unifi Switch
  • Ubiquiti Unifi 802.11ac Dual-Radio PRO Access Point (x3)
  • Ubiquiti Unifi Cloud Key

Any thoughts/suggestions would be highly appreciated.
TIA

You’re in way over your head. Just bow out of offering any help. You haven’t identified the problem, all you are suggesting is a grocery list.

Just. Stop.

1 Like

I am doing what I can for a non-profit that doesn’t have the funding for an IT professional. If I had the funds myself I would donate some money so they could get their IT needs met, but I do not. If you have any constructive advice or would like to donate money to help them, I’m all ears.

No need to be a dick.

As far as I know Ubiquiti is pretty expansive. Also it is proprietary stuff, isn’t it? Not quite a closed system but not really open source either? That might cost more money down the line when something breaks and also could potentially create some problems if apps disappear and so on.