What Could Go Wrong When Hosting a Server?

Hey everyone! So there are some people on this forum who have hosted Minecraft servers before, and now I want to do the same thing! I'm thinking of hosting a public pixelmon/FTB Direwolf 20 modpack!

My server is powerful enough to handle one or the other (i7 3517u, 6GB RAM, 32GB SSD + 160GB Backup HDD) because i've already done so for a group of friends, and I am currently using no-ip to host a DNS for me.

I'm basically a noob to hosting to the public, so what are some things I should do before I begin hosting the public server, and what are some things that can happen when I host a public server? DDOS? Can a hacker track ALL network activity and take control of anything on the network, including the server? What can go wrong?

Thanks, forum friends!

A good firewall with good bandwidth (Both up and down.) and you should be good.

1 Like

Good admin controls to deal with griefers...
Also, multiple backups per day is nice when a griefer or hacker destroys everything.

1 Like

A hardware firewall or software?

I have 15/10 most of the day, but sometimes dips to 10/7.

I backup my lan servers once every 30 mins, and begin deleting backups after 100.

For plugins, I was thinking of none, but I might install some anti grief plugins, and possibly friend-type plugins.

1 Like

Some problems you might encounter (from the top of my head) while being an admin:

• You could set your root (admin) password to be 1234, the stupid things basically.
  • The hosted application could have security holes, result of bad configuration or just buggy code, it's your job to keep track of the software releases and know what security holes are present if any if you are not the programmer, otherwise, you should test your code ferociously for such things and respond to people trying to help you, you could hire a pentester if you are really worried about security, but they are costly.