Return to Level1Techs.com

What Could a Entry Level Industrial Engineering Major Do To Get Experience?

Hi guys one of my friends is just started college doing industrial engineering. What types of jobs could he do if he cant get an internship the first summer for experience? Would working on a factory floor help or some sort of IT job?

@eidolonFIRE

Yeah factory floor is a good place to start, not only to get familiar with machines but also to get familiar with different steps and processes and, what’s overlooked by many major engineers, the environment itself, like how and what kind of people use those machines.
So basically to get basic experience and just to broaden ones perspective.
Now I’m not an engineer (by european standards), I was an electrician in the past life, but now I work in a factory processing concrete elements and love it, too many a times for example those electrical engineers made plans and blueprints that just doesn’t work irl, leaving the electricians building everything basically by freehand, re-drawing the blueprints afterwards and sending em back to the engineer.
Same goes for industrial machines, they might very well get modded afterwards because the engineers who ‘made’ it didn’t take some little thing into consideration.
Nothing worse than being an engineer (again, not as ‘engineer’ in US, but engineer by EU standards) who’s only sat behind a desk his/her whole life.
There’s an old saying/joke where I’m from, that engineers only think, equals they only think that they know their stuff lol