Web Development Tools

Okay, so my first question is, what are the most essential web development tools, like anything from boostrap to jquery?

But I also wanted to ask you guys, what's the best sass compiler for windows, I've tried messing around with one or two, but they tend to be pretty buggy and unreliable, can anyone suggest something more stable?

Finally, can you mention tools that are great, and cost isn't always an issue, of course I'm not talking about serious investment, like buying PHP Storm or something, but just something that tends to be a step up from all the freebies. For my code/text editing sofwtare, I am currently using both Atom and Brackets, I find that I prefer one over the other for different reasons, if that makes sense? - I mean there are some features I prefer of Atom and some features I prefer of Brackets.

But I do want to step up from being classed as a junior web developer, I want to take my work that extra step further, and I would like all the essential/available tools that could help me get there!

I also want to SERIOUSLY improve my design skills, can anyone suggest how I'd go about improving my design skills, cause so far, my projects have been a sorta hit and miss kinda thing. One day I can produce a piece of work and think to myself, yeah, this is really nice, it works so well, other days I can make something and half way through, I'll just say NO! This is awful, it must be deleted, it looks like the work of Satan.

I don't plan on being a professional designer, I feel that I'm not artistic enough to become a professional designer, when I compare my best work with the top dogs. Of course I know my work wouldn't be anywhere near as good, but you get what I mean, I feel a tonne of envy for some excellent designers. I really want to improve, I don't mind how long, or expensive it may be, whether it be financially or time consuming, you get the picture, I'm dedicated to what I do.