Wafer: A Wayland Thin Client

I’ve been kicking around this idea since Jan 2020. As the Linux world moves closer to using Wayland for desktops by default, there’s been little if anything done to address the need for Wayland-based thin clients (thin clients are still used in some university computer labs and the like).

The Wayland protocol is quite I/O agnostic, it’s just a buffer and message passing protocol. The plan is to create a split client/server which acts as a Wayland server on a remote machine (and can run another nested Wayland server in client mode), and acts as either a Wayland client on a local machine, or uses the kernel frame buffer. Everything will be built around a single remote-client assumption (simplifies the server half), and minimizing CPU resources on the client (it’s THIN). Bandwidth is not a major consideration as these generally run with dedicated 1gbps or better lines, but encoding the output is a possibility (lossless h.264 should work reasonably well a large portions of the frames are unlikely to change). The remote machine will provide the buffer for the remote Wayland client to draw.

Anyway, I think step 1 is writing out a vocabulary for the pieces in play, as it is a bit confusing. I’ll aim to upload a .dia file once I have that worked out.

Second will be naming the project something better than Wayland Thin Client.

Third is figuring out if wlroots or libwayland will work, or if starting from scratch will be easier.

16 Likes

This is cool. Will def follow the progress.

Alright, I think my hours about up… Let me see if I can describe the topology in English well enough to avoid the diagram (which doesn’t really help…).

1. Wafer
    Working name for the project, and for the client and server halves considered together.
  2. Mainframe
    A powerful multi-core machine with a GPU supporting the GBM protocol, and gigabit or better ethernet.
    For testing, will be my ryzen 3800x machine.
  3. Thin Client