VPN and DNS servers

This might seem like a stupid question, but after a bit of internet searching, I couldn't really come up with a satisfying answer.

I've been using a paid VPN for a couple of months now, it was cheap enough and I thought I'd give it a try. After getting into a conversation with two people I know about anonymity online, they just shrugged when I mentioned a VPN and said they change their DNS servers. Am I totally wrong in thinking that these two options don't really do the same things at all?

No your not wrong. They don't do the same thing at all.

A Vpn encrypts your traffic, Along with giving you a different IP address.

Changing your DNS Does not do either of those.

But when useing a VPN You don't want any DNS leaks to your ISP's DNS.

To remain Anonymous all the time is practically impossible. Changing your DNS to something like Google's (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4) will only help ever so slightly. Although it's probably best that you do because your DNS requests won't be processed by your ISP's DNS service.

Check if your DNS is utilizing your ISP's service here:

https://www.dnsleaktest.com/

So just make sure I'm understanding. To be anonymous it is best to use a VPN and change your DNS to something like Google's? I haven't looked this up but do some VPN providers offer a DNS service? It seems to negate having a VPN if you don't change your DNS address if this is the case.

From my experience I think that most VPN providers don't provide DNS services. The best solution, in my opinion, for DNS is to use something like DNScrypt with some OpenNIC servers.

If you use a VPN, and it's working properly, then your dns traffic will ignore your configured dns servers and instead go through the VPN tunnel and use whatever dns server is configured in your VPN client.