Virtualisation on laptops

Hello there, I wanted to start a small discussion about the use of virtualisation, partly because I would like to know a bit more about how other people manage their guest machines and what their workflow is like.

I'll start off by sketching my current situation. I'm a CS student from Europe, and I'm in my first year of college. I have been using Linux for about a year without any virtual machines, I'm not really a gamer and I'm not a designer either so I'm pretty much free from the use of either OSX or Windows. I had been running Arch with XFCE and life was good, albeit sometimes a bit time intensive to get everything configured how I wanted it to be configured, but that's okay. Starting out in college was daunting, especially when they start forcing software upon the students.

Eventually this lead to me switching back to windows because I ended up with so many apps that wouldn't run on Linux. And the performance of my VM was really piss poor, regardless of how much ram or processor cores I gave it.

What I would like to talk about really, is how you deal with the poor performance of your guest machines. And what hoops you had to jump trough to make it work.

Or if you have other ways of solving it... like finding diffrent apps that do the same thing (Photoshop -> GIMP, etc.)

The start of my second year of college was the perfect time to have a VM. I was running netrunner and needed visual studio. I only had a 320 gig hard drive. I tried setting up a VM server at home and running a VM for visual studio JUST BECAUSE my teacher didn't recognise visual studio code as an actual thing and refused that it was real. It was pompous and stupid and I quit the class because of it.