Virtualbox or VMware Workstation

I haven’t played around with Linux for several years and while it has been awhile I would say I’m fairly competent moving in and around Linux. There are numerous applications that I need windows for so I plan on installing Windows as VM.

I have a Razer Laptop that I plan on installing Linux on I am either going to use Virtualbox or VMware Workstation Pro. I am a student so I can get and use VMware Workstation Pro for free. The last time I used VMware was for work back in 2010 so it has been a very long time since I have used it.

My question is which program would you recommend, Virtualbox or VMware Workstation Pro. I’m open to other suggestions as well.

Most people here seem to use kvm (potentially with GPU passthrew, depends on what youŕe doing wether or not you need that) as opposed to the other two options.

Wendell has a lot of video guides on his youtube channel too about that. Iḿ sure you can find something there.

Otherwise I’d say VMWare. VirtualBox on Windows already is not that amazing (but at least it works and is free) and on Linux it’s the same, except with more occasional bugs that break it when you update it, from my experience.

At Work I have VMWare Workstation for my test machines, it is very solid, but not free
i also have tested Hyper-V which is free with Windows10 pro or enterprise (but no copy paste between UI’s)

At home i use VMWare player ( free but no snapshots ) for my i-still-need-some-windows-apps stuff and my other linux test or windows machine

Virtualbox works, i just have more experience with VMWare, qemu can be fun to run some old 16bit os stuff (DOS etc…), no recent experience with KVM on my side

i recently did a test of unraid (not free but trial is), that was not bad at all (it is mostly KVM under the hood i think)

So for me VMware

KR

Dominique

I’ve run both.