Video Editing Server Build

So I’m new to Level1Techs/Wendell and I am working with a friend who does post-production work. I have a budget USD $5000 and our goal is to build the fastest NVMe SSD server for the budget.

Here are the requirements:
*15TB of storage minimum

• it will need to backup to Dropbox.
  • Needs 8 clients editing in Premiere Pro simultaneously (4K footage with proxies)
  • okay with used gear
  • looking for deals
  • fastest possible

Questions:
-What ideas are we looking at for processors? Dual CPUs?
-Will we saturate a 10G link to each client thus needing 10G NICs or are 1G NICs okay?
-Is FreeNAS the best option?
-Any and all recommendations are welcome besides asking for more budget :slight_smile:

If you want speed, this is probably the best way to get it.
https://pcpartpicker.com/list/MvVZGq
The ASRock rack board in the above list has 2x 10Gig ethernet ports, but it also has the AST2500 controller that can remove the need for a GPU, hence saving you precious pcie bandwidth to add the highpoint/liqid AIC ssd. As for the cpu, a used 3900x/3950x or even a new 5900x is probably a good deal and can handle the file transfers.
Since the pcie x8 slot won’t be used, you can add a 10gig nic which can give you 2 more 10gig ports(?)

Cheap NVME is about $100/tb, and large size NVME’s are closer to $200/tb. So unless you are planning on not doing redundancy, the majority of your budget would be going to the drives themselves. For example, the sabrant rocket 8tb is about $1300 these days, so for a RAID 10 setup (for ~16tb usable) would be $5200.

So NVME only might not be really realistic unless you find a great price on drives.

Dual CPUs would not be required at this budget/level of system. The more important thing would be PCIe bandwidth.

A hard drive (in the right conditions) can saturate a 1G connection. 10G is definitely the way to go.