Vaping electronics. Build a top notch temp control mod

I would like to create my own vape mod. However, I like the control of a mod with both temperature control and wattage control, such as the Kbox mini that I am currently using.

I am a machinist by trade. So I would like to make the body out of metal, probably stainless or aluminum, or wood. I am leaning toward wood for the prototype, just for the simplicity in machining and the low cost of materials. I have access to a CNC mill at home, and I am in the process of converting my lathe over to CNC; maybe this will give me the kick in the ass I need to finish that project. As I have not yet designed anything, I cannot show you what I am thinking about. I do want it to be something that is simple. No extravagant shapes or profiles; I want something that looks "classy."

I have a little experience in tinkering with electronics, but not a lot. I have no experience in designing PCB circuits or any of that. This is where I will certainly need some assistance with this project. I imagine I can use an Arduino for the brains. I would also like to incorporate a charging circuit. I think this will work.

The temperature control and wattage mode will be a matter of figuring out if the Arduino can handle this task alone, or if I will need additional circuits and sensors as well. I am open to ideas, especially for the electronics.

The plan is to use an off the shelf tank. I want the mod to be compatible with most tanks. I can't remember off the top of my head what the thread size is; this is what I plan to machine into the mod.

The drip tip I will machine. That should be a fun and simple lathe project, once the CNC conversion is complete.

I welcome any ideas and comments. Let me know what you think! This is a long term project, so don't get impatient with results!