Value SSD

Hi TS,

I have recently built my first PC (modest with value in mind) earlier this year with lots of help from Logan's videos and this forum. I have some spare change around and am looking to upgrade just a little. With some research, I find with my current setup an SSD makes most sense and did a little digging on that. However I am still a newbie and do not follow the recent developments about controllers and quality flash on various drives. Some recommendations that were good 6 months ago are not very good today.

In summary I am looking for a value or budget SSD just enough for Windows/Linux OS that would suit my current build. I am looking to spend around $75. Is this possible?

Here are my specs that may be relevant:

Operating System
Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

CPU
AMD FX-6300 14 °C
Vishera 32nm Technology

RAM
8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 798MHz (9-9-9-24)

Motherboard
ASRock 970 Extreme4 (CPUSocket) 33 °C

Graphics
ASUS VN247 (1920x1080@60Hz)
2048MB ATI AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series (XFX Pine Group) 33 °C

Storage
931GB Western Digital WDC WD10EZEX-00KUWA0 ATA Device (SATA) 32 °C

Optical Drives
HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH24NSB0 ATA Device

Audio
Realtek High Definition Audio

You can get a Crucial MX100 128GB for ~$70. It has pretty decent performance.

Is performance based on read and write speeds or other factors as well?

Not entirely sure.

Now that I think about it, to be honest that probably isn't a very good SSD for you. It's cheap in terms of price/GB, but overall it's relatively slow. The 256GB is the one that's pretty fast. I'd look at possibly a 64GB SSD if you wanted pretty good speed.

These are some I found that seem to fit my needs, any recommendations or support for them?

Kingston SSDNow V300 Series

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820721107

ADATA XPG SX900 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820211596

PNY XLR8

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820178455