Using Ubuntu Server as a Mediaserver

What are peoples opinions and thoughts on using Ubuntu Server 22.04 as a MediaServer as opposed to unraid or Truenas? I have been using unraid for several years and it works well but recently I have been working on Linux more in my day job and have been thinking that setting all of this up on Ubuntu Server would work. I have been playing around with Portainer on Ubuntu and deploying containers as most of the use I get out of unraid is based around containers. I feel that the other advantage of using Ubuntu would be learning more about Linux, I understand that unraid is also linux based but it seems quite different to a standard linux install. I think the main challenge I would have at this time is related to storage as my unraid box has 7 HDD’s and two SSD’s and these are all of various capacities.

2 Likes

linux (in any flavor) makes a great server. be aware of the difference in network design when using CIFS or NFS. do not be afraid to use CIFS even if the complete path is all linux based.

also, KVM is a great design for a linux server. you could use one or both KVM and portainer, especially in a somewhat ‘lab’ environment.

the more things you build and break, the more things you will be able to fix. i did a guide on here about a SAMBA4 Domain Controller, that might even be useful for you, as it could be your authentication mechanism.

Mediaserver or NAS? Theoretically, they are one and the same, but slightly different.

If you want to install and configure everything yourself, any linux distribution will do.

Will you gain something more from ubuntu than a ready-made dedicated solution? No, except for experience.

You can also look towards OpenMediaVault which is based on Debian.

1 Like

All those appliance distros like unRAID and TrueNAS come setup more fit for purpose than general purpose distro