Using Linux At School - New User

Hi there. I havent used any forms of Linux before but my friends swear by Ubuntu and other distros. I am using a laptop at high school next year for general work (using google docs) and I will have to do programming and web designing too. I really like the Idea of having a Linux distro to use at school. So will something like Ubuntu suit my needs? Also can I use things like Spotify on it aswell (love to work to music)? I plan to keep the Windows 8 that the laptop comes with too so am I likely to have any issues with partitions? Is it good to use something like Linux at school or should I stick to the Windows 8. What are the advantages to using Linux too?

Thanks everyone, Im very new to this so I need all the help I can get!

I personally would recommend you to start out with Mint, if you want to get into the whole GNU/Linux thing. It has the advantages of Ubuntu, but looks somewhat more familiar to windows users. As much as I am concerned, you can install spotify on Ubuntu(thus, probably on mint as well). Also, if you want to dual boot, there shouldn't be any huge problems. Nevertheless, I've seen some people having trouble, but that was back when windows 8 just got released, so don't know how does it work now.

As for advantages of GNU/Linux... The main advantage would be that it's free(as in, freedom. Also, beer). It's stable and quite secure. At the moment Linux doesn't have many games on it, so it means that there will be less distractions, lol. Linux is well optimized as well, so you can gain better battery life, if you know what you're doing. Many distros tend to ruin this awesome feature, though. Also, people generally learn more about how computers work just by using the system. So, yeah.

The biggest problem for me while using Linux was the video drivers. But seeing how SteamOS is going to be released soon, I guess better drivers will be made.